L2Wipe

When I’m raiding, I’m usually the one leading the raid. That means I’m the busdriver. A large part of my task as a raid leader starts hours before the actually forming of the raid ingame. Based on our raidplanner, I have a pretty good overview on who’s available for raiding and who will eventually be given a spot to raid that night. That allows me to think about strategies well beforehand. When I read about encounters, I’m not planning our strat with terms like MT or OT but I put names on them. When I see ranged dps in the startegy guide, I know that means a mage, a warlock and a balance druid. All this kind of thinking and planning saves time during the raid. Practicly all of the assignments are in my head, others just need to execute it.

Beside me, there are some other people aswell who are able to lead a raid succesfully. A lot of stress falls of my shoulders when I know a raid is in good hands if I’m not the one leading it. That doesn’t mean that every raid I lead is always succesfull. I got lot’s of examples where the bus wasn’t able to get going at all or I can tell you stories about bus crashes. What I do notice is that in raids where I need to be silent, we’re having a harder time in executing a fight as it should be. We had a weekly raid in Ulduar, Ignis was on the wanted list. We had a massive wipe, we even lost people on trash… It’s not like we were running with alts, no. We all had our mains in there, characters with full badge gear, expierience in both ToC 10 and 25 and some of us had allready down 4 bosses in Icecrown.

We wiped because there was a lack of communication, better yet, no communication at all. There was no healing setup wich caused people to die in Ignis belly pot. Dps died a second after the tank pulled becuase they were to trigger happy. Adds weren’t taunted after they got molten so they headed for the raid. Well, you get the picture. Everything what could have gone wrong went wrong. And on our second attempt, no one is standing up and offers himself to take things under controll. A simple “Can you make sure that people in the pot stay alive” would have been sufficient. Or a small reminder in raidchat that the adds needed to be taunted again after they got molten since they loose aggro. It’s not that I do this things on purpose in order to make everyone pay their repairbill at the end of the raid. It’s actually very painfull to see everyone suffer from a bad raid.

I’ve asked myself, why does no one take the initiative to handle the situation? Are people automaticly presuming that when I’m part of the raid, I would handle these kind of things? I also wondered what I can do in order to make people realize that it takes 9 or 24 others aswell in order to down a boss. Sometimes I don’t feel like it’s necessary to repeat every single pointer before we pull. But when I don’t do that, people die.

Ah well, I’m getting to negative here if I re-read the part I allready have written. I don’t want to sound like a person that thinks of himself that he can’t be missed during raids. When I confirm a raid, I only pick those 10 people from whom I know, those 10 are able to have a succesfull raid. They get the opportunity to prove themselves once again and show others they are well capable of downing boss without to much wipes. And I have strong faith that they will succeed.

It makes me wonder when I hear about a guild raid that wiped 10 times during an evening (1h30 raidtime) what are those people going to do when the keyplayers decide to retire from the game? What if they need to focus more on their real life than on maintaining the guild values and rules?

Tonight’s raid is facing Deadbringer Saurfang first. I will not be part of the raid. I have a strong feeling they will have a hard time getting past him. And I hope I am wrong here. I really hope he’s going down at the first attempt and they can take down Festergut or Rotface aswell. But if they don’t, people will log off disappointed, frustrated and in their mind they know it couldn’t be their fault the raid had failed. The strange thing is, even tough I will not be a part of the raid, I will have the same feelings tonight.

I can help out ofcourse, I could replace a healer and I know that the raid would make less mistakes and perhaps down him in a couple attempts less. But on the other hand I want to prepare the guild for a moment where people will need to lead their own raid when others aren’t there anymore to do the hard work for them.

When an encounter normally is healed by 3 healers, you always see that the healers aren’t really giving their best. But if you switch to 2 healers, all of a sudden, that person that always was that healer who get’s carried arround, picks up his healing and starts to shine. I’m constantly trying to achieve the same, not only for player performance, but to increase leading abilities, awareness, tactical knowledge, class mechanics communication and social skills.

I’m sure that one day, when it’s time for me to see other horizons, people will step up and take my place.

~ by mrdistefano on January 28, 2010.

9 Responses to “L2Wipe”

  1. Just make sure you don’t burn out dude. If it starts being a chore then I think it is time to relax a bit, take a step back and enjoy the game again. If you can’t then you’re free to join me on soccer practices on Tuesdays & Thursdays :-).

    While dragon age is turning out pretty cool I’ll be back soon. You can bore me some more then in stead of venting to all the internetz.

    • Don’t get me wrong, I’m not bored at the moment. In fact, I really start to enjoy the leveling again with my warlock. For the past 2 days, I haven’t been raiding and I didn’t really miss it. Although I look forward to a nice relaxing raid tonight in ToGC.

      I hope to reach lvl 50 during the first days of next week so I can really start heading for 80.

  2. Well progress wether it’s football or WoW is actually not a normal “curve”. It is more like steps in a stair and when you are very close to take one step up you get a feeling it’s harder and nothing happens. Suddenly you take that step and find yourself playing at a higher level than before.
    Cheers 😀

  3. my mom always told me not to play on the stairs 😥

  4. /facepalm

  5. I always appreciate the work the guild officers put into the game which enables the rest of the guild a smoother raiding experience. But yes, I do find myself frustrated some times when wiping. But I usually remember that it is just a game and will simply have to step up to the plate and do better next time.

    I do see a trend though with our current raiding schedule that when we have a certain composition of players we do manage to get things done, but if we swap out too many of those “solid” players the raid tends to turn into a wipefest.

    Maybe we need more threads like the warlock thread where distefano/shikhee/defiant etc have very detailed posts on warlock dps in general and builds etc. So people can use it as a reference.

    Now I do have to admit that while I like playing a DPS class, its WAY WAY WAY easier then healing or tanking. if I slack in the raid it takes a bit longer for the fight to end but if I were to play healer or tank and slack, the raid would simply die.

    So I have to give creds to our healers and tanks, you play are far more stressfull game then I am 😛

    Leveling up my warrior though to compensate 🙂

    ps: sheesh long comment

    • Well noticed Felios. I notice the same when we build a raid where some key players are absent, the raid has a harder time to succeed. And I really mean players here, not characters because the key-players seem to excel no matter what class they play.

      I never saw it differently though, Oldtimers always had this problem. Although I do need to say that during the years, several players have become part of those key-players group. So I presume it takes a while to become that kind of player who can make a raid work.

      I’ve always been willing to spend time with people that have the potential to fill this role. But sometimes I ask myself if people really want that role since they enjoy to be carried far more.

  6. WTB a new post!

Leave a Reply

 
